LibGuides: Financial and Legal Assistance Recommended Resources: Financial Topics

Need More Help?

Jila Tanha

Email Me

Contact:

713-745-8063

www.MDAnderson.org/TLC

Subjects: Gastrointestinal Cancer Center

About The Learning Center

Hours & Locations | E-mail Us | FAQs

The Learning Center provides materials for information purposes only. The materials are not a substitute for medical advice. Medical information can change over time. You should talk with your health care provider if you have any questions or concerns regarding your personal health situation.

Use this guide to learn more about financial and legal topics related to cancer care and survivorship.

Legal Topics | Insurance | Additional Resources | Español

Getting Started

Finding and Paying for Treatment (American Cancer Society)
Information on dealing with insurance, financial and legal matters during cancer treatment.
Financial Assistance (CancerCare)
CancerCare offers information, resources and limited financial assistance (including transportation costs to and from treatment) to help people with cancer better cope with financial concerns.

A Helping Hand: The Resource Guide for People With Cancer by CancerCare
Publication Date: 2022
This comprehensive booklet includes national and regional organizations that offer various kinds of financial help to people with cancer. The listings include contact information for each organization and a description of the type of help provided. You can also see categories that tell you, at a glance, the type of help available.

Financial and Legal Assistance Organizations

Patient Access Network Foundation
PAN provides financial assistance to financially and medically qualified patients, including those insured through federally administered health plans, for co-payments, co-insurance and deductibles.
Patient Advocate Foundation Co-Pay Relief Program
PAF Co-Pay Relief (CPR) program provides direct financial assistance to qualified patients with co-payments, co-insurance or cost-sharing associated with prescription drugs.
Cancer Financial Assistance Coalition
CFAC is a coalition of organizations that help cancer patients manage their financial situations. Their website provides a database that is searchable by diagnosis and type of financial need.

Travel and Lodging Assistance

Joe’s House
Joe’s House provides an online database for cancer patients and their families to find lodging near treatment centers.
Houston Ground Angels
Houston Ground Angels help patients access the best possible treatment for their specific type of illness by arranging free ground transportation from all airports within a 30 mile radius of the Texas Medical Center, Houston, TX.
Road to Recovery (American Cancer Society)
The American Cancer Society Road to Recovery Program provides transportation to and from treatment for cancer patients who do not have a ride or cannot drive themselves.

Prescription Assistance

NeedyMeds
This website lists pharmaceutical manufacturer’s patient assistance programs for individuals who cannot afford their medications.
Help Paying for Prescription Drugs (American Cancer Society)
Find out about public and private resources that can help people with the cost of their medicines. Some of these programs have options for buying drugs at discounted prices. Others help people who cannot afford any part of their medicine costs.
Medicine Assistance Tool
The Medicine Assistance Tool is a search engine that contains information on approximately 500 public and private assistance programs that help those with financial need get access to their prescription.

Social Security Disability

Social Security Disability (Patient Advocate Foundation)
This comprehensive page covers navigating the overwhelming process of filing for disability benefits.

Adult Disability Starter Kit by Social Security Administration
Publication Date: 2010
This starter kit contains a fact sheet, checklist, and worksheet to help provide general information about the disability programs and the decision-making process that can help take some of the mystery out of applying for disability benefits.

MD Anderson Resources

Why MD Anderson
At MD Anderson, we understand how hard it can be to choose a hospital for cancer treatment. Here are some of the reasons why MD Anderson is your best hope for cancer care.
Insurance, Billing and Financial Support (MD Anderson)
For financial assistance see section titled Billing & Insurance FAQs.