LibGuides: Financial and Legal Assistance Recommended Resources: Additional Resources

Online Resources

Financial Considerations (Cancer.net)
Learn about the cost of cancer care including questions to ask your health care team about expected costs and where to get help.
Cancer Treatment Deferment Request for Federal Student Loan Borrowers
Application for deferment for patients with federal student loans who are in treatment after September 28, 2018.
Benefits for Older Adults (National Council on Aging)
Benefits for seniors that could help them pay for prescription drugs, medical care, food, or heat for their homes.
United Way Houston
Whether you need help finding child care, food stamps, care for an aging parent or a haven from domestic violence, 2-1-1 is the number to call when you don't know who to call.

Frankly Speaking: Coping with the Cost of Care by Cancer Support Community
Publication Date: 2020
This book is for people who want to know more about managing the cost of cancer care. It can be difficult to find one place where people affected by cancer can learn about practical matters such as insurance coverage, Medicare and Medicaid, co-pay assistance, Patient Assistance Programs, Social Security, health care reform, and other resources to help manage cancer-related finances.

Cancer-Related Legal Issues (Triage Cancer)
This page includes some additional resources about cancer-related legal issues.
Air Charity Network (ACN)
ACN consists of an independent network of volunteer service organizations that provide transportation for individuals travelling for treatment.
Angel Flight South Central
Angel Flight arranges travel through a network of volunteer pilots for people who require specialized medical treatment not available to them locally.
Miracle Flights
Miracle Flights provides financial assistance to low-income children for commercial air travel to obtain special medical care.

Workplace Issues (CancerCare)
CancerCare provides information, resources and support to people who are experiencing workplace issues related to cancer and its treatment.
Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) (U.S. Department of Labor)
The Wage and Hour Division of the DOL offers fact, guidance, tools and forms about FMLA for workers and employers.

HealthCare.gov
This government website allows one to answer a few basic questions to receive customized information about insurance options. Options may include individual health coverage offered by health insurers, Medicaid, Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) and state health benefits.
Texas Medicaid for Breast and Cervical Cancer
Texas women without insurance with certain types of breast or cervical cancer may be eligible for Medicaid.
Medicaid
Medicaid is a health benefit program that assists eligible families with low income and limited financial resources.

Social Security, Medicare and Government Pensions: Get the Most Out of Your Retirement & Medical Benefits by Joseph Matthews
Call Number: KF 3650 M439s 2020
Publication Date: 2020
This book shows readers how to get the most out of their retirement benefits, as well as the best medical coverage and prescription drug benefits.
Get What's Yours: The Secrets to Maxing Out Your Social Security by Laurence J. Kotlikoff, Philip Moeller and Paul Solman
Call Number: HD 7125 K87g 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Get What’s Yours explains Social Security benefits through basic strategies and stirring stories. It covers the most frequent benefit scenarios faced by couples; by divorced retirees; by widows and widowers. It explains what to do if you’re a retired parent of dependent children; disabled; an eligible beneficiary who continues to work. It addresses the tax consequences of your choices, as well as the financial implications for other investments.
Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability: Getting & Keeping Your Benefits by David A. Morton III
Call Number: HD 7105.25 .U6 M889n 2020
Publication Date: 2020
This comprehensive book covers both Social Security Disability Insurance and Supplemental Security Income.

Plan Your Estate by Denis Clifford
Call Number: KF 750 .Z9 C637p 2020
Publication Date: 2020
This book explains estate planning in plain English, including: wills, avoiding probate, living trusts, bypass (AB) trusts, naming guardians for children, leaving property to children, estate, gift, and inheritance taxes, strategies for business owners, leaving property to charity, health care directives, and financial powers of attorney.
Get It Together: Organize Your Records So Your Family Won't Have To by Melanie Cullen and Shae Irving
Call Number: KF 750 .Z9 C967g 2020
Publication Date: 2020
In the first half, you’ll find the pages to create your personal planner. In the second half, you’ll find step-by-step instructions and helpful resources.

Medicare for Dummies by Patricia Barry
Call Number: WT 31 B281m 2021
Publication Date: 2020
This indispensable resource untangles Medicare in friendly, straightforward language. Step by step, you’ll learn when and how to enroll, ways to avoid costly mistakes, and how to find the plan that brings the most benefit to you and your family.
Get What's Yours for Medicare by Philip Moeller
Call Number: WT 31 M693g 2016
Publication Date: 2016
an essential companion to explain Medicare, the nation’s other major benefit for older Americans. Learn how to maximize your health coverage and save money.
Get What's Yours for Health Care by Philip Moeller
Call Number: W 84 M693g 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Healthcare expert Philip Moeller has written a reliable, concise guide to healthcare and health insurance basics. He provides tools that patients need before, during, and after they get medical care. He describes the care we need, the care we don’t, and how to deal with doctors, hospitals, and other healthcare providers.
10 Costly Medicare Mistakes You Can't Afford to Make by Danielle Kunkle Roberts
Call Number: WT 31 R643t 2020
Publication Date: 2020
In 10 Costly Medicare Mistakes, Danielle guides new beneficiaries through the key decisions they'll need to make at the beginning of their journey while also helping them expertly avoid the most common and costly mistakes that new beneficiaries often make.