LibGuides: Leukemia and Myelodysplastic Syndromes Recommended Resources: Types of Leukemia

There are many types of leukemia. Here you can learn more about the most common types.

Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia

Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia by National Comprehensive Cancer Network
Publication Date: 2025

These step-by-step guides to the latest advances in cancer care feature: treatment information, questions to ask your doctors, patient-friendly illustrations, and glossaries and terms of acronyms.
Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia in Adults by Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Publication Date: 2024

This booklet provides information about acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) for patients and their families.

Chronic Lymphoblastic Leukemia

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia by National Comprehensive Cancer Network
Publication Date: 2025

This guide provides treatment information for chronic lymphocytic leukemia, questions to ask your doctors, patient-friendly illustrations, and glossaries and terms of acronyms.
Understanding CLL/SLL Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia and Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma: A Guide for Patients, Survivors, and Loved Ones (Lymphoma Research Foundation)
Publication Date: 2025

This guide is an educational resource compiled by the Lymphoma Research Foundation to provide general information on chronic lymphocytic leukemia and small lymphocytic lymphoma.
CML: The Basics by Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Publication Date: 2025

This booklet provides information about chronic lymphoblastic leukemia for patients and their families.

Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Acute Myeloid Leukemia by National Comprehensive Cancer Network
Publication Date: 2025

These step-by-step guides to the latest advances in cancer care feature: treatment information, questions to ask your doctors, patient-friendly illustrations, and glossaries and terms of acronyms.
Acute Myeloid Leukemia in Adults: In Detail by Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Publication Date: 2025

This booklet provides in-depth information about acute myeloid leukemia (AML) for patients and their families.
AML: Tha Basics by Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Publication Date: 2025

This guide provides basic information on AML in an easy-to-read format. It also offers information and guidance on practical matters, such as how to choose a doctor, what questions to ask about treatment, and more.

Chronic Myeloid Leukemia

Chronic Myeloid Leukemia by National Comprehensive Cancer Network
Publication Date: 2025

This guide provides treatment information for chronic myeloid leukemia, questions to ask your doctors, patient-friendly illustrations, and glossaries and terms of acronyms.
Chronic Myeloid Leukemia: In Detail by Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Publication Date: 2025

This booklet provides information about chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) for people who have CML and their families.
CML: The Basics by Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Publication Date: 2025

This guide provides basic information on CML in an easy-to-read format. It also offers information and guidance on practical matters, such as how to choose a doctor, what questions to ask about treatment, and more.

Other Leukemia Types

The following fact sheets from the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) provide the latest information on various leukemia subtypes and less common types of leukemia.

Hairy Cell Leukemia (Leukemia & Lymphoma Society)
This fact sheet provides information about hairy cell leukemia, including treatment, clinical trials and support resources.
Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia (Leukemia & Lymphoma Society)
This fact sheet provides information about acute promyelocytic leukemia (APL), which is a unique subtype of acute myeloid leukemia (AML).
Chronic Neutrophilic Leukemia (Leukemia & Lymphoma Society)
This fact sheet provides information about diagnosis, treatment, expected outcomes and available support resources for chronic neutrophilic leukemia (CNL).
Chronic Myelomonocytic Leukemia and Juvenile Myelomonocytic Leukemia (Leukemia & Lymphoma Society)
This fact sheet provides information about CMML and JMML diagnosis, treatment, clinical trials and support resources.

Myeloproliferative Neoplasms

Myeloproliferative Neoplasms (National Cancer Institute)
Explore the links on this page to learn about Myeloproliferative Neoplasms, their treatment, research, and clinical trials.
Myeloproliferative Neoplasms (Leukemia and Lymphoma Society)
Access information about these types of blood cancers provided by the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.